Friday, May 18, 2012

GHOSTLIMB - Confluence

Vitriol Records celebrates its third anniversary this summer and kicks off its fourth year with the release of Ghostlimb's Confluence, hitting stores July 10.

Ghostlimb features frontman Justin Smith, also founder of Vitriol Records and guitarist/vocalist of Graf Orlock.

Alternative Press has posted an exclusive stream of Ghostlimb's "Margins", a track off Confluence.

Confluence is Ghostlimb's fourth full-length album but the second in a trilogy-in-the-works which began with last year's Infrastructure. Confluence rips through speakers like a U-boat surfacing and lays down what is, to date, the most explosive version of the signature Ghostlimb sound. Bruising, vise-tight hardcore shifts from blazing speed-picking to epic, bluesy choruses. The rhythm section of drummer Alex McLeod and bassist Neal Paul Sharma is monstrously heavy. The lyrics, screamed by Smith with pure conviction, examine  human existence - our relationships with ourselves, with each other, and with nature - often referencing historical events, from Ancients Greeks to Sacco and Vanzetti. Desperate and searching, Ghostlimb is like the earnest, heartfelt foil to Smith's other more mischievous band.

Twelve songs in all, Confluence features a cover of Hot Water Music's ode to the underground, "Southeast First". The full tracklist is as follows:

1) Confluence
2) Margins
3) Sunlight
4) Canidae
5) Infrastructure
6) Bearing Witness
7) Ardor
8) Control
9) Exchange
10) Infinite Locality
11) Southeast First
12) Conquerors of the Useless

Confluence was recorded, mixed and mastered by frequent Ghostlimb/Graf Orlock collaborator (and Comadre guitarist) Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden Studios in East Palo Alto, CA, in March 21012. The cover features the same die-cut "G" insignia seen on the first installment of the trilogy, Infrastructure. Like much of the best Vitriol Records artwork, it was created by Adam Hunt.