Wednesday, June 26, 2013


Twelve Gauge Records announces the August 13th release of The Future Is Bright, the debut full-length album by No Sir.

From Santa Rosa, California, No Sir (featuring members of Sabertooth Zombie and Creative Adult) hail from within a flourishing circle of current West Coast hardcore punk bands - bands like Ghostlimb, Loma Prieta, Punch, Trash Talk, and Ceremony. Varying in style, these Golden State bands of today are bonded by a general aesthetic: highly artistic and intellectual yet determined to keep things raw, lo-fi, and DIY. Gut-level music for the thinking man. No Sir are representatives of this modern scene but can also be understood in a historical context, as heirs to the legacy of an older generation of Californians - the extreme hardcore punk bands that have filled the pages of Maximumrocknroll for years, from Dead and Gone to Talk Is Poison to Look Back and Laugh.

If you ask No Sir themselves, they'll add Wire and Nirvana to their list of influences too. All these references points are evident on the debut full-length, The Future Is Bright, as the band balance gloomy introspection and forward-charging aggression with a perfect sense of rock songwriting that makes every song as much a hummable hit as a punk rock exorcism.

Check out the recent premiere of "Anxiety Consumption", off The Future Is Bright, a song that starts as a depressive waltz and picks up into an all-out shout-along anthem of the dispossessed.

And an older live performance by No Sir from "The Waiting Room" series, featured by Alternative Press Magazine.

As for non-musical influences, No Sir list Camus, Sagan, and Lynch among others, giving a glimpse into the wide range of inspiration that's hidden behind the music.

Engineered, mixed, and mastered by Comadre guitarist Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden, The Future Is Bright was tracked live in the studio to capture the true energy of the band. Shirley is a go-to producer for the West Coast scene, having helped make records for Deafheaven, Graf Orlock, Ghostlimb, Loma Prieta, and more.

The tracklist of The Future Is Bright is as follows:

1) Intro
2) The Crowd
3) C.A.L.I.F.O.R.N.I.A.
4) Anxiety Consumption
5) I Doubt You'll Ever Swim Again
6) Wet Worlds
7) I Pushed Back
8) Interlude
9) The Baseline Percentage
10) Bad Vibes
11) Mama I'm a Good Boy

Twelve Gauge Records will release the album August 13th as a limited edition, 12" vinyl LP (in three colors) and digital download. A Bay Area stalwart since 2004, Twelve Gauge began by releasing the debut by Heavy Heavy Low Low and went on to put out music by Power, Sabertooth Zombie, Purple Mercy, Throats, and more. Twelve Gauge Records releases are exclusively distributed by Deathwish Inc.

No Sir are confirmed to play The Fest 12 in Gainesville, Florida this fall. More live dates will be announced soon.