Tuesday, October 8, 2013


MetalSucks presents the premiere of Netherlands' new song, "Robot Fail", off the Brooklyn band's upcoming second album, Silicon Vapor.

MetalSucks' Kip Wingerschmidt writes, "Us Brooklyn folk have known about the glory of Timo Ellis' psych-prog/spazz-punk outfit Netherlands for several years now... This is not your mama's freakout power trio: we're talkin' bout guitar/vocals, drums, and synthbass here..."

Bookended by a syncopated crusher of a riff, "Robot Fail" glides along at a cool Queens of the Stone Age clip with frontman Ellis' sweet vocal hooks leading the way. Of what is perhaps the catchiest tune to be premiered by MetalSucks in 2013, Wingerschmidt avows, "The song is over and you're reaching to play it again. And again. And again. And again..."

A veteran with two decades of work under his belt, Ellis collaborated with Yoko Ono, Melvins, John Zorn, and many more before creating Netherlands as an outlet for his most unrestrained musical tendencies. A recent review on BrooklynVegan states: "As you might expect from Ellis' resume, Netherlands is a pretty strange band. They play gritty, high-energy punk/metal, anchored by a huge distorted synth bass tone; the effect is something like Future of the Left banging out one of Torche's more rambunctious tunes."

Silicon Vapor was recorded by John Davis (Moby, The Roots), mixed by Bryce Goggin (Swans, Pavement), and mastered by Ron Shaffer (Tricky). The band self-releases the album October 29th in three formats: digital, CD, and a limited pressing of double LPs.