Thursday, April 24, 2014


From Albany, New York, HUSH. announces the June 24th release of its first full-length album, Unexist.

Unexist was engineered by Ryan Slowey, mixed by Kowloon Walled City frontman Scott Evans (Old Man Gloom, Ladder Devils), and mastered by From Ashes Rise frontman Brad Boatright (Nails, Tragedy).

Like the best bands of its genre, HUSH. excels in the art of momentum – to listen to Unexist is to witness an inevitable force, advancing slowly, unstoppably. It is hypnotic in its motion. Indeed, frontman Charles Cure refers to the band more as a collective force than a group of individuals. "The live performance is a delivery of massive, shuddering heaviness, provided by a literal wall of amplifiers," he says. "We regard the actual members of the band as a secondary aspect to the primacy of the sound and ideas being conveyed."

An apt reference point is Times of Grace-era Neurosis, with its tribal drums and end-of-world intensity. Like Neurosis, HUSH. is a band in the sludge-doom realm, whose roots lie in hardcore. Frontman Charles Cure sang for Equal Vision Records band Endicott, guitarist Jeff Andrews was an early member of From Ashes Rise, and the rhythm section of Nick Warchol and Mark O'Brien also does time with Deathwish Inc signees Self Defense Family. Fleeting moments of brightness on Unexist point to influences from farther afield – the band name-checks Depeche Mode and Godspeed You! Black Emperor as influences, alongside more predictable doom, crust, and hardcore bands. 

The lyrics on Unexist explore the concept of death as it has been represented in society via works of art and media coverage. Each song is based on one specific representation of death, with source materials ranging from an Emily Dickinson poem, to a Wladyslaw Podkowinski painting, to a newspaper article about an actual classmate of Cure's who committed suicide by jumping from a plane without a parachute. 

The Unexist tracklist is as follows:

1) Solus
2) Eater of All Things
3) We Left Like Birds
4) Infinite Recursion
5) Waves of Exultation
6) Rest/Nonexistence
7) Splendor

The cover art is a collaboration between Cure and artist Mers Sumida.

Unexist follows a 2012 EP, Untitled I.