Thursday, January 22, 2015

HOT NERDS - Strategically Placed Bananas

"Part of a proud San Diego tradition of completely wild and utterly unabashed spazzitude... Strategically Placed Bananas is a ten-song collection of synth, skronk, and spite."

"100 Bands You Need To Know in 2014"
–Alternative Press

Three One G Records celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2014 – read all about it, here! – and the game-changing, San Diego-based label, owned by Justin Pearson of The Locust, Retox, All Leather, Some Girls, Head Wound City, Swing Kids, and more, is busy as ever in 2015, kicking off the year with the debut LP by Hot Nerds.

Titled Strategically Placed Bananas, Hot Nerds' first full-length hits March 10th on Three One G. Pre-order the album, here. Like many Three One G bands, Hot Nerds hails from within Justin Pearson's inner circle of friends. Frontman Nathan Joyner plays with Pearson in All Leather and was also formerly his bandmate in Some Girls. (His resume also includes a stint in skateboard legend Mike Vallely's band, Revolution Mother.)

In Hot Nerds, Joyner is flanked by Alia Jyawook on synths and Thomas O'Connell on drums. O'Connell also blasts for grinders Idols Plague, who recently put out a split with Noisear. 

Hot Nerds is right at home amidst the Three One G family of oddball hardcore, noise, and electronics. The band pumps out smirking, throbbing synth-punk 
with a vibe every bit as acidic as that of The Locust or Arab on Radar, and has toured with labemates like Retox and Moving Units.

Noisey's Zack Lipez describes Hot Nerds' debut LP, Strategically Placed Bananas, as "part of a proud San Diego tradition of completely wild and utterly unabashed spazzitude... a ten-song collection of synth, skronk, and spite."

Alternative Press named Hot Nerds as one of its "100 Bands You Need to Know in 2014."

Strategically Placed Bananas drips with vitriol and humor in equal doses. Lyrics about anxieties, addictions, and nihilism, delivered via Joyner's nasal whine, clash with bouncy hooks and illustrator Josh Freydkis' '80s-defiling cover art. The album was recorded and mixed by Nathan Joyner at his own studio, Cereal & Soda, and mastered by Brent Asbury (Retox, Warsawwasraw). Drums were recorded by Matt Baker at K Street Recorders. It follows a self-titled EP, also on Three One G.

The tracklist is as follows:
1) Room One Flatulator

2) Noize
3) Cardiac House Arrest
4) Stuffed Party Animals
5) Brubeck Counting Institute
6) EmotiKanye
7) Freak: Da Geek
8) Shock Value on the Rocks
9) 7 Day Blast
10) Leggs Over Easy

Southern California, see Hot Nerds live at the Strategically Placed Bananas record release show, March 6th at Soda Bar in San Diego. Special guest: Qui.