Thursday, June 18, 2015

EXTINCTION A.D. - Faithkiller

Extinction A.D. reveals full details and cover art for its debut full-length album, Faithkiller, coming August 21st on Good Fight Music.

Comprised of ex-members of This Is Hell, Extinction A.D. has made a hard left-turn out of This Is Hell's hardcore zone, into full-blown thrashing metal mode. Debut album Faithkiller plays like a 21st-century powerhouse upgrade of '80s thrash. Frontman Rick Jimenez and his crew synthesize the best aspects of early Metallica and Testament – the energy, passion, and titanium-strength hooks – and spit it back out with modern-day horsepower.

Faithkiller was recorded and mixed by Brett Romnes (I Am the Avalanche, Anthony Raneri), and mastered by Brad Boatright (Nails, Noisem).

Witness the video for "Instruments of Death," recently premiered by Revolver Magazinehere.

Lyrically, Jimenez says he is inspired by "the world around us and the fight between what it is and what it could be, especially in this country." Addressing issues like CIA coverups and media fear-mongering, he calls it like he sees it:

"The propaganda was unleashed as the animations replayed / And all logic was deflected by the CIA / Fire fell like a stone, we watched the sky explode / Homeland firefight happened in plain sight, something's just not right" (from "Echoes of Life").

"Deconstruction's systematic but sold as breaking news / All along knowing, heads they win, tails we lose... / Eternal grasp of power reaches up from the grave / Flashes across the TV to enslave." (from "Crisis: Indefinite").

Faithkiller's cover art and layout were created by UK artist Will Blood (Gallows, Set Your Goals).

The tracklist is as follows:

1) Black Omen
2) Civil Execution
3) Instruments of Death
4) Echoes of Life
5) Prisoners
6) Tu Enemigo
7) Faithkiller
8) Crisis: Indefinite
9) Rot in Pain
10) To Exist in Purgatory

Faithkiller follows the Plague Prophecy EP, released on Good Fight last year.

Since its formation in 2013, Extinction A.D. has played with the likes of Municipal Waste, Darkest Hour, Kvelertak, Toxic Holocaust, and Havok. A US tour with From Autumn to Ashes kicks off tonight!

From Autumn to Ashes, Hawthorne Heights, Sleepwave, Extinction A.D.:

18 - Allston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
20 - Kitchener, ON @ Wax
21 - Toronto, ON @ Opera House
23 - Columbus, OH @ Skully's
24 - Pontiac, MI @ Pike Room
26 - Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge
27 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Altar Bar
28 - Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts

5 - Reynoldsville, PA @ The Foxhole (Extinction A.D. headline)
6 - Toledo, OH @ Frankie's (Extinction A.D. headline)
7 - St Louis, MO @ Fubar (Extinction A.D. headline)
9 - Des Moines, IA @ Wooly's (Extinction A.D. headline)
10 - Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
11 - Salt Lake City, UT @ In the Venue
13 - Seattle, WA @ Neumo's
15 - Orangevale, CA @ The Boardwalk
16 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
17 - Pomona, CA @ Glasshouse
18 - Los Angeles, CA @ Roxy Theatre

Extinction A.D.:
Rick Jimenez - vocals, guitar
Christian Beale - guitar
Pieter van den Berg - bass
Mike Sciulara - drums