Thursday, August 27, 2015

NERVOUS - Duration and Delusion

"Anxiety isn't cool, but appropriately named Oakland hardcore punk trio Nervous totally are."

Oakland, California trio Nervous announces new EP Duration and Delusion, coming October 23rd on Twelve Gauge Records and Turbulent Records.

Of Nervous' 2013 self-titled debut album, High Times wrote: "Wrathful, angular punk in the mold of early-90s noizemongers Jesus Lizard, the almighty Nirvana, etc." 

Terrorizer called it "paranoid punk rock, not unlike The Jesus Lizard covering 'My War' era Black Flag."

New EP Duration and Delusion follows up the debut with more of what made that album great: minimal noise-punk jams seethe with feeling, existing in a space right between the raging and desperate and the totally stoned. 

Frontman Jake Spek's anxiety-ridden rasp is the voice of a man carrying the weight of the world and trying to make sense of it all. Clean guitars strum urgently and break into surf rock tones as bare-bones drums and bass pound out tight Crass-like cadences. The band – Spek, drummer Jacob Harris, and bassist Conrad Nichols – name influences like The Melvins, Born Against, and the entire rosters of Ebullition and Dischord Records. 

Spek says Duration and Delusion is a record about time: "It's about our understanding of time and how it controls us. How our understanding of it shapes how we approach everything. Time as a power structure and a tool used in the reproduction of capital. The limitations imposed by structures we ourselves have created and abide by. The police. The state. Capitalism. People taking the streets. And weed, of course. Kill the cop in your head."

"The Break," one such song about the march of time, opens with these lines: "I face the wave / Tremble at its feet / It swallows me whole / And sand's stuck to me / I'm feeling tense / And the sand's stuck to me / Take off my clothes / It's still stuck to me." 

Stream "The Break," via Decibel, here.

Duration and Delusion was recorded and mixed by Max Senna (Ash Borer, Wild Moth) and mastered by Alan Douches (Torche, Young Widows).

The tracklist is as follows:

1) The Future 

2) Lapse
3) Breathing and Choking
4) The Break
5) Yearly
6) Nostalgia and Expiration

Central figures in the Bay Area's DIY hardcore punk scene, the members of Nervous run Oakland DIY space The Hive. Turbulent Records is Spek's own new label – Duration and Delusion, a co-release with San Francsico's superb Twelve Gauge Records (Power, Sabertooth Zombie, Youth Funeral), is Turbulent's first release.

Fresh off a European summer tour, the band has toured the US several times with bands such as Loma Prieta. Stand by for news of the next live action.

Photo by Sean Leary