Tuesday, October 13, 2015


"Post-Fugazi hardcore... 'Tiger Lily' is a shambling, jagged basher. The band alternates between storming forward and throwing the listener off balance with their clanging riffage. It's no wonder the tune feels like a title bout boxing match."

"The eclectic sound of Muscle Beach lies vaguely in the realm of hardcore punk... but the band also maintains a commitment to straight-ahead rock n' roll. Performances feature an electrifying physicality... even a sense of desperation."

Denver, Colorado trio Muscle Beach presents its debut full-length album: the self-titled Muscle Beach, coming December 4th on Sailor Records.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by producer Dave Otero (Cattle Decapitation) at Flatline Audio in Denver, Muscle Beach delivers hit after hit. The band's extremely driving brand of post-hardcore recalls RefusedThe Bronx, and Kvelertak – shredded screams and an anxious attack commingle with stadium-sized hooks and beats, making for a combo of "punk" and "rock" that is both aggro and catchy as hell. 

Lyrically, the songs tell tales of pirates, sharks, extra-terrestrials, prostitutes, and even the topic of love. Stream album opener "Tiger Lily" – a song about alien contact with Earth – exclusively via PunkNews, here.

The full tracklist is as follows:

1) Tiger Lily
2) Re-Animators
3) Eagle Wizard
4) Shark 22: Electric Boogaloo
5) Pressure Kills
6) Hot Trash
7) Feint Steps
8) Gnarlitude
9) Secrets of the Crooze
10) John Mahoney
11) Smooch Booth

The album's Raymond Pettibon-saluting cover art was created by Bryan Arrieta.

A Mile High favorite, Muscle Beach was named Denver's "best hardcore band" in 2015 by the city's preeminent alt-weekly, Westword. In the two years since the release of debut EP Pipe Dreams, the band has made its name playing shows with Retox, Ceremony, KEN mode, Whores., and more. As Westword stated it, "performances feature an electrifying physicality... even a sense of desperation." A 2016 US tour is in the works.

Photo by Greg Mason