Thursday, June 9, 2016

SOMETHING IS WAITING - The Something Is Waiting Band

"A stripped-down racket so snotty and unconcerned with the niceties of mainstream society, it would have scared the shit out of The Sex Pistols in their prime."

Presenting, new supergroup of the Chicago sewers, Something Is Waiting, and the July 22nd release of debut album The Something Is Waiting Band, on The Path Less Traveled Records.

Stream first single "New Lows In Hell," exclusively via MetalSucks, here:

A band of Chicago veterans, Something Is Waiting is fronted by Eddie Gobbo – vocalist of Jar'd Loose and Renaissance man of the Midwest metal scene. On guitar is Pete Grossman, co-owner of Bricktop Recording, the Chicago studio that has churned out recordings by Weekend Nachos, Harm's Way, Dead In The Dirt, and scores more. Drummer Idin Alexzander played in (Lone) Wolf and Cub, standouts of the Hewhocorrupts Inc label. Bassist Eddie Limperis is a member of Barren Heir.

Something Is Waiting picks up where Gobbo's other band, Jar'd Loose, last left us – The A.V. Club called Jar'd Loose's 2014 album, Turns 13, "a scathing blast of chest-caving fun... a grinding, twisted, dynamic batch of noise-rock anti-anthems full of acidic riffs and The Jesus Lizard-esque bile." Even more stripped-down-raw, the Something Is Waiting sound is deeply grooving and driving, a minimalist vision of classic rock n' roll with a very sinister streak. In Gobbo's words: "Our goal with this band was to write the most aggressive, paranoid music that we could, rooted in garage rock and '70s rock. Today Is The Day meets ZZ Top, if you will. For better of worse we've carved out our own niche with the sound of this project."

The bands rocks hard, the pocket is deep, and the caveman simplicity is colored with some nimble flourishes that show off what great players these guys are. But the life of the party is Gobbo's unique voice – a harsh Axl Rose snarl, spitting mean-spirited lyrics that are surprisingly poetic and unafraid to call out friends and enemies by their actual names. A lifer in the underground music game, Gobbo tells it how it is, painting autobiographical pictures in vivid, unsettling detail. From the song "Hippies Become Lawyers": "I sit, staring in bliss at a black light poster of me / I see you too and I'll see you in June if your law school ever lets you speak / We'll see / And I don't know who you got answering phones but she's got something between her teeth / I sold her drugs on the way in and out and now she's at her desk asleep."

Hard-rocking, whip-smart, unpleasant and totally brave, Something Is Waiting is a beast, adding something new and outstanding to its city's hallowed musical legacy.

The Something Is Waiting Band was recorded and mixed by Pete Grossman at Bricktop, and mastered by Carl Saff (Red Fang, Coliseum).

The cover art was created by Stavros Giannopoulos of The Atlas Moth.

The tracklist is as follows:

1) New Lows in Hell
2) Pet Rockets Stoned
3) Cult House
4) Hippies Become Lawyers
5) Real Estate Cubicle Rock
6) David Mamet and Kids
7) Mark
8) Real Frontwomen Wear Ankhs

Something Is Waiting, live:

Aug 12 - Chicago, IL @ Reggie's Rock Club w/ Mouth of the Architect