Tuesday, July 12, 2016

DIE YOUNG - No Illusions

From Houston, Texas, Die Young presents No Illusions, its first album for Good Fight Music. Founded in 2002 and rebooted in 2013 after a hiatus, the Die Young of 2016 is a revitalized beast and No Illusions, out August 26th on Good Fight, is a seething collection of thrashing, apocalyptic hardcore. 

Over sixteen tracks, the band powers forward in the highest gear, led by vegan straightedge frontman Daniel Albaugh. The sound is equal parts Slayer end-times thrash, Cro-Mags street snarl, and Earth Crisis militancy. The foundation is blazing metal and chugging hardcore, but piano interludes, female vocals, and a Nick Cave cover fit under this album's roof too. Albaugh describes the album as "a fun ride through various realms of human disappointment, irrationality, violence, nihilism and pessimism."

Stream new song "Bear Witness" via Metal Injection, here:

The full tracklist is as follows:
1) The Last Good Age
2) Bear Witness
3) Automatons
4) You Will Be Forgiven
5) God's Promises
6) Burnt Offering
7) Fragile Thing
8) Providence
9) I Repent
10) Surplus life
11) Mortal/Eternal
12) Spared
13) Thorn and Thistle
14) No Illusions
15) Resolve
16) The Weeping Song (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds)

No Illusions was produced by Craig Douglas (Bitter End, Venomous Maximus) at Origin Sound. 

Die Young has toured the world with a vengeance – the US (including Alaska), Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Central America, South America, Europe, Russia, Japan, Hong Kong, and beyond – and has shared stages with a long list of bands, from Cro-Mags, to Catharsis, to Modern Life Is War.

Die Young, live:
Jul 30 - San Antonio, TX @ Korova
Sep 10 - Fort Worth, TX @ 1919 Hemphill
Sep 16 - Houston, TX @ Satellite Bar
Sep 17 - Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th St Collective
Sep 18 - Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone