Monday, August 1, 2016


Knife Hits announces the September 16th release of debut album Eris.

Stream first single "Descent" today via Decibel, here:

Recorded and mixed by Jonathan Nunez of Torche, Eris is twelve tracks of wounded and rabid hardcore, evoking turn-of-the-millennium screamo bands like Orchid and Pg. 99 who dealt in passion, poetry, and all-out brutality. The sound is so intense, it veers from screamo to grindcore, with blastbeats pelting like a hailstorm and riffs hurtling forward the way Discordance Axis' once did, and occasionally slows to a white-knuckle, Converge-worthy dirge. Akin to newer bands like Loma Prieta, Knife Hits takes the most crushing and emotive vibes of the late '90s/early '00s scene and makes new magic with it.

Formed in Orlando, Florida in 2011, and relocated to Philly and Chicago, Knife Hits consists of members of grind-punkers Backslider, and ex-members of Khann, Republicorpse, and more. 

Eris is a joint effort between three labels: Dead Tank Records – home to releases by Cloud Rat, Thou, and more – is handling the digital release, and Dead Tank, Hydrogen Man Records and Give Praise Records are teaming up for the vinyl.

The album was mastered by Nick Zampiello (Modern Life Is War, Unsane).

The tracklist is as follows:

1) Second Death

2) Aches
3) Descent
4) Perpetual Lethargy
5) The Veil
6) Our Dilemma
7) Their World
8) Map Territory Relation
9) Abhorrent
10) Forgotten Vessels
11) Iconoclast
12) New Paradigm

Upcoming shows:
Sep 6 - Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter w/ Full of Hell, The Body
Sep 7 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ Full of Hell, The Body
Sep 8 - Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus
Sep 10 - Baltimore, MD @ Skramden Yards

Photo by Maxwell Hartley

Cover art by Maxwell Hartley and Tara Atefi